DE

Robotic Process Automation - RPA

What is Robotic Process Automation?

Robotic Process Automation (abbreviation: RPA) is more than just a technology for robot-supported business process automation. At the same time, it is a procedural model, framework and, last but not least, a newly established corporate philosophy that aims to re-examine all of your company's processes in terms of timeliness, appropriateness and performance in order to take account of the processes within and outside your company that are accelerating as digitalization grows to wear.

In concrete terms, the next step is to use robots to automate processes that have different properties, with the aim of increasing reliability, speed, simplicity and safety, while reducing the original process costs associated with carrying out the process Risks and dependence on external resources.

Goals of Robotic Process Automation at aglance:

  • Reduction of costs for repetitive activities
  • Avoiding the risks of human error
  • Relief for employees to focus on value-adding processes
  • Increasing process speeds
  • Independence from the skills shortage
  • Process continuity and stability even in times of social and / or economic challenges (triggered e.g. by Corona Virus)
  • Preservation of the valuable company, process and specialist know-how of particularly important employees

How does Robotic Process Automation work?

Particularly advanced RPA solutions use robots, often referred to as bots, to simulate the business process-relevant behavior of a person in relation to the performance of regular or event-based repetitive activities, so-called processes, which in turn consist of individual workflows, a workflow itself can trigger and start an entire process again.

To do this, use e.g. Sensors (machine vision systems, cameras, machine listening systems, microphones) and kinematics (robot arms with grippers or even hands) for operating touch devices such as smartphones, tablets, set-top boxes (STBs), vending machines or cockpits or use them even a voice to operate and control voice-controlled software and systems - so-called Voice Controlled Human-Machine Interfaces (HMI).

The easier and more flexible the selected RPA solution is to use, the more versatile it can be used in your company, and the more economic benefits you will get from Robotic Process Automation.

Fabrizio Biscotti - Vice President Analyst at Gartner formulated a very important, far-sighted and deep requirement for RPA systems in the following statement:

"The ability to INTEGRATE LEGACY SYSTEMS is the KEY DRIVER for RPA projects. By using this technology, organizations can quickly accelerate their digital transformation initiatives, while unlocking the VALUE associated with PAST TECHNOLOGY investments. "

The statement by Mr. Fabrizio Biscotti is therefore extremely forward-looking and ingenious, since it clarifies the advantage of a robotic process automation solution that actually manages to efficiently transfer the value of past legacy system investments into automation. RPA solutions that are not able to control your existing Sun Solaris, Linux, Mac OS or aging ERP systems, may not be your first choice. Another crucial criterion for an RPA solution to work for you and your (future?) Processes is the ability to integrate voice-controlled devices and systems into your RPA processes ...

RPA example 1:

  • Automatic login to various portals for downloading digital online invoices in a specific directory on the computer.
  • Then create a zip file from the list of invoices.
  • Automatic sending of the generated zip file to the company's accounting or a tax office.
  • Audit-proof report generation and evidence for the auditors on the individual process steps
  • Repeat this process monthly.

RPA example 2:

  • Provision of a drug in a medical device using kinematics.
  • Retrieving patient data from a backend system and checking the patient status.
  • Quantity and time-controlled delivery of the medication by the RPA robot (supervised / not supervised).
  • Complete documentation of these drug delivery processes and monitoring of the patient's system status.

RPA example 3:

  • Login to various backend systems to access performance data (e.g. number of parallel users of a web portal).
  • Triggering different alarms to different stakeholders in the respective reporting format when threshold values ​​are exceeded.
  • Automatic implementation of risk mitigation measures.
  • Revision-proof documentation of the live monitoring and implemented measures for risk mitigation.

RPA example 4:

  • Check for incoming mail with a known sender and / or mail subject to commission an advertising campaign.
  • Reading out the relevant data from the mail.
  • Login to a campaign management tool and automatic creation of the advertising campaign.
  • Login to another portal to link the created campaign with other business objects.
  • Login to an AdManagement Tool to automatically check the delivery of related commercials.

RPA example 5:

  • Test automation of a ticket machine.
  • Test buying a ticket.
  • Login to an associated customer bonus system to check the correct booking of the bonus points.
  • Login to an ERP system to check the correct transfer and booking of the related financial transaction.
  • Revision-proof documentation of all associated processes.

RPA and ethics

Does Robotic Process Automation destroy jobs?

Theoretically: yes. Practical: mostly not. How does that come? The easier an RPA solution is to use, the more employees in your company are able to automate their own repetitive activities. This saves you enormous costs that you otherwise incur due to scarce and very expensive resources (e.g. software developers, test automation engineers). In addition, there is no time and effort for the transmission the know-how already available to your employees on expensive developers who sometimes do not really understand your business and related processes. After automating your own repetitive activities, these employees can support you and your colleagues in automating other business processes or concentrate on the tasks that really add value to your company to do that benefit from human creativity, empathy and enthusiasm. Try it out for yourself to use the employees who are relieved by Robotic Process Automation, to address your customers even more personally and individually and examine the resulting business contribution ...

In any case, it is a fact that digitization is just beginning, as new technological possibilities are just as disruptive as the global spread of smartphones and tablets.

"In a properly automated and educated world, then, machines may prove to be the true humanizing influence. It may be that machines will do the work that makes life possible and that human beings will do all the other things that make life pleasant and worthwhile. "
(Quote: Isaac Asimov - Robot Vision)


RPA Presentation as PDF

Further information on Robotic Process Automation as a PDF download:

EN

Robotic Process Automation - RPA

Was ist Robotic Process Automation?

Robotic Process Automation (Abkürzung: RPA) ist mehr als nur eine Technologie zur Roboter unterstützten Geschäftsprozess Automatisierung. Sie ist gleichzeitig Vorgehensmodell, Framework und nicht zuletzt eine sich neu etablierende Unternehmensphilosophie, die das Ziel hat, sämtliche Prozesse Ihres Unternehmens neu auf Aktualität, Angemessenheit und Performanz zu hinterfragen, um den sich im Zuge der wachsenden Digitalisierung beschleunigenden Abläufen innerhalb und außerhalb Ihres Unternehmens Rechnung zu tragen.

Konkret geht es anschließend um den Einsatz von Robotern zur Automatisierung von Prozessen, die verschiedene Eigenschaften besitzen, mit dem Ziel der Erhöhung von Zuverlässigkeit, Geschwindigkeit, Einfachheit und Sicherheit, bei gleichzeitiger Reduzierung der ursprünglichen Prozesskosten, der mit der Durchführung des Prozesses verbundenen Risiken sowie der Abhängigkeit von externen Resourcen.

Ziele der Robotic Process Automation im Überblick:

  • Reduzierung von Kosten für repetitive Tätigkeiten
  • Vermeidung der Risiken von menschlichen Fehlern
  • Entlastung der Mitarbeiter zur Fokussierung auf wertschaffende Prozesse
  • Erhöhung der Prozess Geschwindigkeiten
  • Unabhängigkeit zum Fachkräftemangel
  • Prozess Kontinuität und Stabilität auch in Zeiten gesellschaftlicher und/oder wirtschaftlicher Herausforderungen (ausgelöst z.B. durch Corona Virus)
  • Konservierung des wertvollen Unternehmens-, Prozess- und Fach-Know-hows von besonders wichtigen Mitarbeitern

Wie funktioniert Robotic Process Automation?

Besonders fortschrittliche RPA Lösungen simulieren mit Robotern, oft als Bots bezeichnet, das Geschäftsprozess relevante Verhalten eines Menschen in Bezug auf die Durchführung sich regelmäßig oder Ereignis basierter, wiederholender Tätigkeiten, sogenannter Prozesse, die wiederum aus einzelnen Workflows bestehen, wobei ein Workflow selbst auch wieder einen ganzen Prozess auslösen und starten kann.

Dazu verwenden Sie z.B. Sensoren (Machine Vision Systeme, Kameras, Machine Listening Systeme, Microphone) und Kinematiken (Roboter Arme mit Greifern oder sogar Händen) zur Bedienung von Touch Devices wie Smartphones, Tablets, Set-Top-Boxen (STBs), Automaten oder Cockpits oder bedienen sich sogar einer Stimme, um sprachgesteuerte Software und Systeme - sogenannnte Voice Controlled Human-Machine-Interfaces (HMI) - bedienen und damit steuern zu können.

Je einfacher und flexibler die ausgewählte RPA Lösung zu bedienen ist, desto vielseitiger ist sie in Ihrem Unternehmen einsetzbar, und desto mehr wirtschaftlichen Nutzen werden Sie durch die Robotic Process Automation ziehen.

Eine sehr wichtige, weitsichtige und zugleich tiefe Anforderung an RPA Systeme formulierte Fabrizio Biscotti - Vice President Analyst at Gartner in folgender Aussage:

"The ability to INTEGRATE LEGACY SYSTEMS is the KEY DRIVER for RPA projects. By using this technology, organizations can quickly accelerate their digital transformation initiatives, while unlocking the VALUE associated with PAST TECHNOLOGY investments."

Die Aussage von Herrn Fabrizio Biscotti ist schon deshalb äußerst vorausschauend und genial, stellt sie doch den Vorteil einer Robotic Process Automation Lösung klar, die es tatsächlich schafft, auch den Wert vergangener Legacy System Investments effizient in die Automatisierung zu übertragen. RPA Lösungen, die nicht in der Lage sind, auch Ihre vorhandenen Sun-Solaris, Linux, Mac OS oder in die Jahre gekommenen ERP Systeme zu steuern, sollten möglicherweise nicht Ihre erste Wahl darstellen. Ein weiteres entscheidendes Kriterium dafür, dass eine RPA Lösung auch bei Ihnen und Ihren (zukünftigen?) Prozessen funktioniert, ist eventuell die Fähigkeit, auch sprachgesteuerte Devices und Systeme in Ihre RPA Prozesse zu integrieren...

RPA Beispiel 1:

  • Automatischer Login in verschiedene Portale zum Download von digitalen Online Rechnungen in ein bestimmtes Verzeichnis auf dem Rechner.
  • Anschließend Erstellen eines Zip Files aus dem Verzeichnis der Rechnungen.
  • Automatische Versendung des generierten Zip Files an die Buchhaltung des Unternehmens oder ein Steuerbüro.
  • Revisionssichere Reporterstellung und Beweisführung für die Wirtschaftsprüfer zu den einzelnen Prozessschritten
  • Monatliche Wiederholung dieses Vorgangs.

RPA Beispiel 2:

  • Provisionierung eines Medikaments in ein Medical Device mittels Einsatz von Kinematik.
  • Abrufen von Patientendaten aus einem Backend Systems und Prüfung des Patientenstatus.
  • Mengen- und zeitgesteuerte Abgabe des Medikaments durch den RPA Roboter (supervised/nicht-beaufsichtigt).
  • Lückenlose Dokumentation dieser Medikamentenvergabeprozesse und Überwachung des systemseitigen Patientenstatus.

RPA Beispiel 3:

  • Login auf verschiedene Backend Systeme zum Abruf von Leistungsdaten (z.B. Anzahl paralleler User eines Webportals).
  • Auslösen von verschiedenen Alarmierungen an unterschiedliche Stakeholder im jeweiligen Reporting Format bei Überschreiten von Schwellwerten.
  • Automatische Durchführung von Risiko Mitigationsmaßnahmen.
  • Revisionssichere Dokumentation des Live-Monitoring und durchgeführten Maßnahmen zur Risiko Mitigation.

RPA Beispiel 4:

  • Prüfen auf Maileingang mit bekanntem Absender und/oder Mailbetreff zur Beauftragung einer Werbekampagne.
  • Auslesen der relevanten Daten aus der Mail.
  • Login in ein Kampagnenmanagement Tool und automatische Anlage der Werbekampagne.
  • Login in ein weiteres Portal zur Verknüpfung der angelegten Kampagne mit weiteren Geschäftsobjekten.
  • Login in ein AdManagement Tool zur automatisierten Überprüfung der Anlieferung zugehöriger Werbespots.

RPA Beispiel 5:

  • Testautomatisierung eines Ticket Automaten.
  • Test Kauf eines Tickets.
  • Login in ein zugehöriges Kunden-Bonus-Systems zur Überprüfung der korrekten Verbuchung der Bonuspunkte.
  • Login in ein ERP System zur Überprüfung der korrekten Übertragung und Verbuchung der zugehörigen Finanztransaktion.
  • Revisionssichere Dokumentation sämtlicher zugehöriger Prozesse.

RPA und Ethik

Vernichtet Robotic Process Automation Arbeitsplätze?

Theoretisch: ja. Praktisch: meistens nicht. Wie kommt das? Je einfacher eine RPA Lösung zu bedienen ist, desto mehr Mitarbeiter Ihres Unternehmens sind in der Lage, ihre eigenen repetitiven Tätigkeiten zu automatisieren. Dadurch sparen Sie enorme Kosten, die Ihnen ansonsten durch knappe und sehr teure Resourcen (z.B. Software Entwickler, Testautomatisierer) entstehen. Zudem entfallen Zeit und Aufwand für die Übertragung des ohnehin bereits bei Ihren Mitarbeitern vorhandenen Know-Hows auf teure Entwickler, die von Ihrem Business und zugehörigen Prozessen manchmal nicht wirklich viel verstehen. Nach der Automatisierung Ihrer eigenen repetitiven Tätigkeiten können diese Mitarbeiter Sie und ihre Kollegen dabei unterstützen, weitere Unternehmensprozesse zu automatisieren oder sich darauf konzentrieren, die für Ihr Unternehmen wirklich wertschöpfenden Aufgaben zu erledigen, die von menschlicher Kreativität, Empathie und Enthusiasmus profitieren. Probieren Sie doch selbst einmal aus, die durch Robotic Process Automation entlasteten Mitarbeiter einzusetzen, Ihre Kunden noch persönlicher und individueller anzusprechen und Untersuchen Sie den resultierenden Geschäftsbeitrag...

Fakt ist jedenfalls, dass die Digitalisierung gerade erst so richtig beginnt, da neue technologische Möglichkeiten ähnlich disruptiv wirken, wie zuletzt die globale Verbreitung der Smartphones und Tablets.

"In a properly automated and educated world, then, machines may prove to be the true humanizing influence. It may be that machines will do the work that makes life possible and that human beings will do all the other things that make life pleasant and worthwhile."
(Zitat: Isaac Asimov - Robot Vision)


RPA Präsentation

Weiterführende Informationen zur Robotic Process Automation als Download: